Democratic Stuff

This is just a quick post I’m doing to acknowledge the US election that just went on. I don’t live in that country, but I appreciate the importance of this last election as just being something really significant going on in the world in general.

A friend of mine saw a kid, when he went to vote, who was yelling something to the effect of “Obama will be the first black President in the world!” – he obviously won’t be. Trust me, South Africa (where I live) has had three so far (one is freshly minted and just passing through, but he’s still the third). But that’s beside the point; the people of the USA voting in a non-white man just means that democracy worked, and the people got their say (or at least the majority did). I hope everyone in South Africa is willing to make the same move come our next election and promote democracy instead of just voting for the same cats over and over and over.

The website http://www.iftheworldcouldvote.com held a global version of the US election. Here are the results…

Barack Obama 87.3% (758,041 votes)
John McCain 12.7% (110,103 votes)

Leave a comment